This is where I will keep you updated on what’s happening in Zambia! I hope to be able to update at least once a week, but the internet goes in and out a lot there. If I don’t post something for a long time please don’t assume anything’s wrong! It’s probably just the internet. Thanks so much for all your prayers and support as we’re preparing to leave. We’re so excited!

I know it says “lauramitchellsblog” but this is God’s story! He is writing it and I’m blessed to be in it. I am so thankful that I get to do this. I hope you see this blog as evidence that God is everywhere!

My church family is very generous! Thank you to all of you who gave me medicine or money. I recieved about 250 items and over $300 to buy supplies with! I have so much stuff that I can’t take it all myself- it won’t fit in my suitcases. My friends are going to put some in their suitcases!

About the trip:

There’s 25 of us going to Zambia, which is located in the southern part of Africa. We’re all students and teachers from Harding. A lot of us are Nursing or Pre-med majors.

We will be staying at a compound called Namwianga. We will get up with the sun, have school, and then get to work in a clinic, school, or orphanage. We will each have a baby assigned to us. We will play with them and love on them during the day. The ‘Aunties’ take care of them, we’re not going to be with them day and night. The babies have their basic needs met, we’re mostly there to help them develop. I’ve heard that the babies are slow to learn to walk etc. because there’s no one to help them learn. I know there’s been some confusion on this, but I’m not taking any babies home!

In the clinic we will get to take vital signs (blood pressure, weight, temperature, etc.) We will also be giving shots.

 If you want to see more about Namwianga you can see their website at: http://www.zambiamission.org/

 

Namwianga Mission

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The Namwianga Mission was established in 1920 in Kalomo, Zambia under the Churches of Christ with the purpose of teaching the Bible and promoting Christianity.

On the mission site there are six elementary schools, four junior high schools, and three high schools. Namwianga also contains the George Benson Christian College, which trains secondary teachers in the areas of Math-Religious Education or English-Religious Education, and many graduates go on to plant churches around Zambia.

The Namiwianga Mission is also involved in orphan care. The orphanages include Eric’s House, for older children and teenagers; Kelly’s House, for toddlers; Eleanor’s House, for newborns and babies; and the newly-constructed Marjorie’s House, which will house HIV/AIDS children.

 

If you want to see a satellite photo (I think it’s pretty old) of Namwianga, click here: http://www.maplandia.com/zambia/southern/kalomo/namwianga/ and make the map go up until you see a larger cluster of buildings. It has one distinctive building that is a square with a courtyard in the middle.